Tranquility by Laurie Gardiner: A Review


While I write the much awaited review of  ‘A Passage To India’ here is a review of a great novel ‘Tranquility’ by Laurie Gardiner.

I received a free ePub of this book by Laurie for an honest review. You can get (and I’ll tell why you should) a copy on Amazon.

ISBN 978-1-908191-98-4 (ePub)

ISBN 978-1-908191-51-9 Trade Paperback

Meet her at Facebook and Twitter.

About the author: (as written in the end of her book) Laurie Gardiner grew up on a farm in a small Northern Ontario community in Canada. She left home at seventeen to experience life in the city and now lives in Cambridge, Ontario with her husband of twenty-seven years. Raising three kids, teaching fitness and operating a home daycare left little time for writing, but she did have some poetry published in various anthologies over the years. In 1997, her short story “‘Til Death Do Us Part” placed first in the Cambridge Writers Collective anthology.

At the age of forty, Laurie went back to school and began a new career as a personal support worker. Though she ended up working in homecare, it was a placement in the dementia unit of a long-term care facility that inspired her to write her first novel, Tranquility.

Laurie is currently enrolled in the Creative Writing Program through the local community college and is working on her second novel. (And I don’t think she needs it much.)

Here is what the author reveals of her book:

Sometimes there’s a price to pay for doing the right thing.

Support worker Sarah Scott learns this the hard way when, soon after being transferred to nursing home Tranquility’s dementia unit, she uncovers a sinister secret. Doing the right thing could mean losing her job, and unemployment is not an option for the young, single mom.

Meanwhile, Sarah begins to question whether her newest resident, Edie, belongs in the locked unit. The feisty, Scottish woman certainly doesn’t act as though she has dementia. Sarah is determined to have her released, but her plans are thwarted when Edie risks her own freedom to help uncover the secret.

Review: The story pulled me in from very first line but by the end it seemed that line was not very important. As I never reveal what happens in the book and try to keep the mystery as well as honesty in mind I’d say Laurie put the Chekhov’s gun but forgot to fire or never intended to fire it.

Laurie’s language is rich and fluent and her style is eloquent. (I know that’s most common praise but it fits.) all her chapters ended for me to keep reading just one more page and before I knew, I was reading another chapter and another and yet another! She has combined humour and emotions perfectly, her characters have their lives and flaws and the story feels very personal at many levels. There are just a few mistakes but those are the things that firstly are editor’s and second, can be easily ignored.

The only noticeable mistakes are two; she used a few adverbs that stand out. I’m not as much against adverbs as Stephen King is, though I try to write without adverbs just to be sure. Another is she killed a darling. No I’m a fan of killing the darlings, the more the better (No, I’m not a psychopath!). Laurie kills two darlings in the book, death of the first darling is very much justified, that’s how it should have been, but the second darling’s death feels more of an effort rather than a necessity.

The story is good overall; the ending could have been made a little tighter, though it’s very good as it already is. The pace is accurate, not too fast to make you think what just happened? Not too slow to make you yawn and say, move ahead already! I enjoyed it and would recommend reading it, it is a good book for two purposes, if you are starting out writing you could learn a lot, if you are a voracious reader already you will enjoy it.

Reading tranquility makes me feel how there are wonderful authors who with a little help of right platform and promotion could shine. I wouldn’t call the book perfect as no book can be, but it’s a great read and more so because it’s Laurie’s first novel!

I have so many beautiful and favorite lines from the book but I won’t share them all (yes, I’m that selfish!), but here are a few to let you know Tranquility is worth a lot of shots!

 

Memories were all I had left of him. Losing them would be like losing him all over again.

 

Others reached out, took my cold hands in theirs and tried to offer comfort. But it was not comfort I needed. It was my mother.

 

Christmas was over and Dementia was back to its usual state of organized chaos.

 

Coffee could lead to drinks, which could lead to dinner, which, judging by the level of attraction I felt for him, could lead to, well, lots of things.

Yes, I know you want to get your copy but wait and read a little further, I still have a few more things to tell. The story has got love (you’ll love the kisses and feel giddy remembering yours), friendship (you will laugh and feel greatful for having your best friend), family (enough said), standing up for a cause in the face of problems, doing what is right even if it threatens to harm you (umm… with a little persuasion by a friend of course).

Are you still here? Did I not tell you to get the book? Now just hop on and order your book, but first write a comment appreciating me how good a reviewer I am. cough cough

Being a bookworm I read a few book I really like, again, and this is going to be one of those!

Check my reviews of Call of The Herald by Brain Rathbone, Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov and I Want To Live by Thom Jones if you enjoyed this.

4 thoughts on “Tranquility by Laurie Gardiner: A Review

  1. […] have been waiting for, a great review of a great book, ‘A Passage to India’! In my review of Tranquility by Laurie Gardiner and in a self-defaming post I mentioned I am reading passage to India and am planning to give a […]

    Like

Hey! I would love to hear from you...

